Marcel Fengler mixes Berghain 05

  • Share
  • Ostgut Ton's next mix features new tracks from Peter van Hoesen, Skudge, Reagenz, Ben Sims and more.
  • Marcel Fengler mixes Berghain 05 image
  • Marcel Fengler has mixed Berghain 05, due for release at the end of August. Though he keeps a low profile compared to some of his fellow residents, Fengler's productions and DJ sets have earned him consistent acclaim over the past few years, with RA's Terry Fonseca calling him "the most underrated of the crew of DJs and producers working in and around Berlin's Berghain club." Whether in his home base's downstairs room or at festivals like Labyrinth in Japan, many of his sets are driven by a knack for narrative arc. "It is important to me that music tells kind of a story," he says. "It has to be varied and it has to snake through the night in waves." Berghain 05 reflects this approach, slowly building a heavy groove and taking stylistic detours along the way. Like its predecessors, it's heavy on new material: nearly half of the mix is previously unreleased, with exclusive tracks coming from Peter Van Hoesen, Vril and Reagenz, AKA Move D and Jonah Sharp, all of which will be included on a 12-inch release. Fengler also includes new music from himself, Skudge, Ben Sims, Puresque, Convextion and LB Dub Corp, AKA Luke Slater. Tracklist 01. Emika - Count Backwards (Marcel Dettmann Vocal Edit) 02. Peter van Hoesen - Axis Mundi 03. Terrence Dixon - Tranquility (Octagen Remix) 04. Byetone - Plastic Star (Dr. Walker Remix) 05. Tommy Four Seven - G (Regis Remix) 06. Marcel Fengler - Thwack (L.B. Dub Corp Remix) 07. Secret Cinema - Timeless Altitude (Minneapolis Mix) 08. Ratio - Double Feature 09. Gerd - Time and Space (Duplex Southside Mix) 10. Seiji - More Of You 11. Claude Young & Takasi Nakajima - Think Twice 12. Puresque - 001A 13. Ben Sims - Slow Motion 14. Vril - UV 15. Marcel Fengler - Sphinx 16. Skudge - Man On Wire 17. Reagenz - The Labyrinth 18. 20:20 Vision - Future Remembrance (20:20 Livestyle Mix) 19. Convextion AKA E.R.P. - Vapor Pressure Ostgut Ton will release Berghain 05 on August 29th, 2011.