Flying Lotus's new album features David Lynch, George Clinton and Solange

  • Share
  • Flamagra, the Los Angeles artist's sixth LP, is out on Warp Records in May.
  • Flying Lotus's new album features David Lynch, George Clinton and Solange image
  • Flying Lotus will release his first album in five years this May. Flamagra, which comes via the LA artist's usual home Warp Records, spans 27 tracks and features a host of collaborators, including Anderson Paak, George Clinton, Little Dragon, Tierra Whack, Denzel Curry, Shabazz Palaces, Thundercat, Toro Y Moi, Solange and David Lynch. Steven Ellison's follow-up to 2014's You're Dead "encompasses hip-hop, funk, soul, jazz, global dance music, tribal polyrhythms, IDM and the LA Beat scene," reads the press release. "I'd been working on stuff for the past five years, but it was always all over the place. I'd always had this thematic idea in mind—a lingering concept about fire, an eternal flame sitting on a hill," Ellison says. "Some people love it, some people hate it. Some people would go on dates there and some people would burn love letters in the fire. Then I went to this party and heard David Lynch saying the words that he wound up saying on the record. And I was like, 'That's it, we're just going to go in that direction.'" While a half-decade has passed since Flying Lotus's last album, he's kept busy, collaborating with Kendrick Lamar, directing and writing a horror film called Kuso, producing much of Thundercat's RA-recommended Drunk and running his Brainfeeder label, which celebrated its tenth anniversary last fall. Watch the video for "Fire Is Coming," featuring David Lynch and directed by Flying Lotus and David Firth.
    Tracklist 01. Heroes 02. Post Requisite 03. Heroes In A Half Shell 04. More feat. Anderson Paak 05. Capillaries 06. Burning Down The House feat. George Clinton 07. Spontaneous feat. Little Dragon 08. Takashi 09. Pilgrim Side Eye 10. All Spies 11. Yellow Belly feat. Tierra Whack 12. Black Balloons Reprise feat. Denzel Curry 13. Fire Is Coming feat. David Lynch 14. Inside Your Home 15. Actually Virtual feat. Shabazz Palaces 16. Andromeda 17. Remind U 18. Say Something 19. Debbie Is Depressed 20. Find Your Own Way Home 21. The Climb feat. Thundercat 22. Pygmy 23. 9 Carrots feat. Toro Y Moi 24. FF4 25. Land Of Honey feat. Solange 26. Thank U Malcolm 27. Hot Oct. Warp Records will release Flamagra on May 24th, 2019. Photo credit: Renata Raksh