JD Twitch curates compilation of German post-punk on Strut

  • Share
  • Kreaturen Der Nacht features tracks from acts like Malaria! and Christiane F, spanning 1979 through 1985.
  • JD Twitch curates compilation of German post-punk on Strut image
  • JD Twitch has put together a collection of early German post-punk for Strut. Kreaturen Der Nacht profiles the early German post-punk scene from 1979 through 1985, a mostly independent and DIY community that was centered around "a handful of clubs" without a "real music industry" presence, according to Gudrun Gut of Malaria! (pictured). Other acts that feature on the LP, in addition to Malaria!, include Christiane F (in the form of a JD Twitch edit), Die Haut, Mania D, Exkurs and more. The set, which comes on double vinyl, CD and digital, will also include photos from the period and interviews with artists from the scene. "The compilation is not designed to tell a definitive story of what was going on in Germany in this era," says Twitch. "It is more an arbitrary collection of records I adore from a specific era with a specific attitude that hopefully together sum up some of the musical undercurrents in Germany at that time." Listen to "Amanita" by Leben Und Arbeiten.
    Tracklist 01. Leben Und Arbeiten - Amanita 02. Malaria! - Your Turn To Run (I Will Be Your Only One) 03. Ausserhalb - Zeitzelle 04. Die Haut - Der Karibische Western 05. Aus Lauter Liebe - Pingelig 06. Mania D. - Track 4 07. Exkurs - Fakten 08. Christiane F - Wunderbar (JD Twitch Edit) 09. Sprung Aus Den Wolken - Dub And Die 10. P1/E - Up And Above / Up And Above Dub 11. Franz Erlmeier & Fritz Köstler - Öffnen Sie Mal Ihre Tasche 12. Populäre Mechanik - Scharfer Schnitt (No. 1) 13. Andreas Dorau & Die Marinas - Fred Vom Jupiter 14. Weltklang - Vob Heimat 15. Stefan Blöser - Voyager One 16. Matthias Schuster - An Rah Robeel Strut will release Kreaturen Der Nacht on November 9th, 2018.