Moodymann, Underground Resistance, Recloose remix Funkadelic on triple-vinyl compilation

  • Share
  • It's out in late October.
  • Moodymann, Underground Resistance, Recloose remix Funkadelic on triple-vinyl compilation image
  • A wide-ranging group of Detroit house and techno producers have remixed classic Funkadelic songs for a new compilation. Funkadelic Reworked By Detroiters features the likes of Kenny Dixon Jr and his Moodymann alias, Underground Resistance, Claude Young, Andrés, Recloose, Amp Fiddler and Marcellus Pittman remixing material from the legendary funk band, which was also known as Parliament. Interdimensional Transmissions boss Brendan Gillen, the compilation's curator, also contributes by way of his BMG moniker and his Ectomorph project with Erika (who mixed this week's RA podcast). "We are overwhelmed with how seriously the remixers took this project, turning in some of their best work," Gillen writes in an introduction to the set, which also points out how some of those involved (like Amp Fiddler and Mike Banks of UR) played in Funkadelic early on in their music careers. Also notable are the artists who were recruited but ultimately don't show up on the tracklist. Jazz saxophonist and composer Faruq Z. Bey passed away in 2012 before finishing his remix—which hints at how long this compilation has been in the works. Theo Parrish, Carl Craig and Wajeed, out of respect for the original material, decided their reworks "just didn't hold up to Funkadelic's legacy." Westbound Records, home to many of Funkadelic's classic records, is handling the compilation's release. It lands late next month on triple-vinyl, double-CD and digital formats, after the Kenny Dixon Jr and Moodymann remixes come out on wax next Friday the 22nd. Listen to what Moodymann does with "Cosmic Slop."
    Tracklist Disc 1 01. Sexy Ways (Recloose Disco Flip) 02. You Can't Miss What You Can't Measure (Alton Miller Mix) 03. Get Off Your Ass And Jam (Marcellus Pittman Remix) 04. Cosmic Slop (Moodymann Mix) 05. Music For My Mother (Andres Wo Ahh Ay Vocal Mix) 06. Undisco Kidd (Gay Marvine Edit) 07. Super Stupid (Dirtbombs Version) 08. Take Your Dead Ass Home (The Fantasy Version) Disc 2 01. Music 4 My Mother (Underground Resistance Mix) 02. Let's Take It To The Stage (Amp Fiddler Laughin @ Ya Mix) 03. Standing On The Verge (Anthony Shake Shakir & T Dancer Remix) 04. You And Your Folks (Claude Young Jr Club Mix) 05. Be My Beach (Mophono & Tom Thump) 06. You And Your Folks (Claude Young Jr Dub) 07. Let's Make It Last (Kenny Dixon Jr Edit) 08. Looking Back At You (Ectomorph Stripped And Dubbed) 09. Maggot Brain (BMG Dub) Westbound Records will release Funkadelic Reworked By Detroiters on October 27th, 2017.