Sven Vath billed for Movement 2011

  • Share
  • Marcel Dettmann, Kerri Chandler, Goldie, Green Velvet, Scuba and many more will also play this year's festival in Detroit.
  • Sven Vath billed for Movement 2011 image
  • Paxahau have revealed the first set of names for this year's Movement festival, with German techno icon Sven Vath leading the charge. Though the annual event has gone through a lot of changes over the years (as chronicled in last year's oral history piece), it remains one of the most important electronic festivals anywhere in the world. Last year's edition, which nodded to the city's roots with performances from Model 500, Inner City and Plastikman, drew more than 100,000 people to Hart Plaza in total. The lineup so far for 2011 covers both the old and the new, with little regard for genre divisions. Classic names like Kerri Chandler, Green Velvet (who will play live) and UK drum & bass legend Goldie share the bill with younger acts such as Soul Clap, Art Department and Michigan expat crew Visionquest (Seth Troxler, Lee Curtiss, Shaun Reeves and Ryan Crosson), who will play a live/DJ hybrid set. Local dub techno specialists Echospace and Reference (AKA Luke Hess and Brian Kage) have also been confirmed. Prologue's Cio D'Or and Berghain resident Marcel Dettmann will be on hand for a darker shade of techno, and Scuba will play a set as well, no doubt armed with some new Hotflush dubplates. Other live acts include Dâm-Funk & Master Blazter and American dubstep artist Skrillex. As usual, Movement will take place across three days on five outdoor stages by the Detroit River. Smaller parties around the city have always been a big (if unofficial) part of the Movement experience, but nothing has come through about those events yet.

    • Paul Woolford, Metro Area, Tortured Soul, Kerri Chandler, Felix Da Housecat, Matthew Hawtin, JPLS, Ambivalent, Heartthrob, Gaiser, Marc Houle, Richie Hawtin, Chuck Daniels, Mike Servito, Aril Brikha, Visionquest, DJ Godfather, Brian Gillespie, Hudson Mohawke, Daedelus, Goldie, Skrillex, The Siege, Spacetime Continuum, Cio D'Or, Kero, Richard Devine, Venetian Snares, Monolake

    • Sammy Dee, Mark Flash, Margaret Dygas, Ricardo Villalobos, Sven Vath, Carl Craig, Pulshar, Livio & Roby, tINI, Martin Buttrich, Guti, Loco Dice, DJ Cent, Mike Brown, Al Ester, Bruce Bailey, Delano Smith, Com Truise, Space Dimension Controller, Ana Sia, Soul Clap, Eliot Lipp, Beardyman, Aux 88, Markus Guentner, DeepChord, Echospace, Traversable Wormhole, Ryan Elliott, Steve Rachmad, Ben Klock, Marcel Dettmann

    • Terrence Parker, The Dirtbombs, Reference, Dubfire, Green Velvet, Fatboy Slim, Clark Warner, Deniz Kurtel, DJ Three, Art Department, Justin Martin, Victor Calderone, Adam Beyer, Erika, Paranormal Tek, Franki Juncaj, DJ 3000, District 909, DJ T-1000, Claude Young, Pearson Sound, Ramadanman, Calvertron, Scuba, Little Dragon, MiMOSA, Flying Lotus, Ataxia, Anthony Attalla, Boo Williams, Glenn Underground, Shlomi Aber, James Zabiela, Paul Kalkbrenner