Various - Four To The Floor 12

  • Matthew Dear and Boys Noize make unlikely appearances on Solomun's label.
  • Share
  • Each edition of Diynamic's Four To The Floor series consists of four tracks tried and tested by label boss Solomun in his DJ sets. In the series' notable 12th instalment, Matthew Dear makes his Diynamic debut, and Alex Ridha, AKA Boys Noize, unveils a new techno moniker, ELAX. "Monster," Dear's ode to the kick drum, is a pleasingly idiosyncratic addition to the Diynamic catalogue. The thudding beat and accompanying yelps are almost tribal. Combined with Dear's distinctive baritone it manages to sound both silly and serious. ELAX's "Reaktor" could initially be mistaken for a Pointer Sisters track, with clipped bells and a syncopated beat. But it turns Diynamic a few bars in with the addition of low-slung synths. They reach a progressively louder, narcotic climax that will sound immense in the clubs. Denis Horvat's "Madness of Many," conversely, provides a late-stage payoff. His tetchy chorus of bleeps is joined by some competing, peppy synths midway through the track. It's like shaking up a fizzy drink and popping the can open. Animal Picnic and Novakk's "Khokana" is also tribal but more festive, with a faraway chorus and woozy chords that should pair well with sunsets and smoke machines.
  • Tracklist
      01. Matthew Dear - Monster 02. ELAX - Reaktor 03. Denis Horvat - Madness Of Many 04. Animal Picnic & Novakk - Khokana