Various - Movies For The Blind

  • Share
  • Code Is Law's third record is a four-track compilation. It's the imprint's second such release, following July's Wolves, which collected efforts from Sawf and Hound Scales among others. Movies For The Blind sticks to the format, with XVII, Delta X, Eomac (who also featured on the first compilation) and label founder Mørbeck laying down one cut each. XVII's beatless title track takes up the A1, and is a far cry from the pummelling techno Code Is Law has specialised in. It's haunting and emotive, and its placement in front of three big-room tracks is bold. Ukrainian newcomer Delta X supplies "Broken Mirrors," the most straightforward thing here, where swing, white noise and a vocal—"go"—combine for a track much in line with the heavily swung, noisy techno sound. Those looking to go deeper should head straight for the B-side—Mørbeck and Eomac offer up "Behind The Mask" and "The Third Eye" respectively, both hypnotic, albeit slightly jarring cuts that, thanks to a collage of violent mid- and high-range samples, should stand out in any set.
  • Tracklist
      A1 XVII - Moves For The Blind A2 Delta X - Broken Mirrors B1 Moerbeck - Behind The Mask B2 Eomac - The Third Eye