Ben Watt compiles Buzzin' Fly Vol. 4

  • Published
    Fri, 30 Mar 2007, 05:00
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • The fourth Buzzin' Fly label comp hits shelves in May.
  • Ben Watt compiles Buzzin' Fly Vol. 4 image
  • The Buzzin' Fly boss mixes up past and future label cuts on the fourth installment of his annual mix series. 'Buzzin' Fly Vol.4' lands in May. Buzzin' Fly is the hot London house label run by former Everything But the Girl member Ben Watt, home to big hitters from last year such as Darkmountaingroup's 'Lose Control', Ame's remix of Rodamaal's 'Insomnia' and Jimpster's 'Square Up'. Recently the label been moving away from its house origins, dabbling in deep techno, electro and even progressive. On its latest compilation 'Buzzin' Fly Vol.4', Watt brings together everything from dubby tech house (The Green Men) to electronic pop (Mlle Caro and Franck Garcia). The CD includes the 'Jimpster' rejig of Buzzin' Fly classic 'The Sad Piano', last year's dreamy 'Mind Games' by Abyss as well as two brand new tracks by Watt: 'Just a Blip' and his remix of 'Silver Ponds' by Danish indie-pop band Figurines, a new signing to Buzzin' Fly sister imprint Strange Feeling. Preview a couple of the cuts over at Buzzin' Fly's MySpace. As you'd expect from Watt, the CD is mixed seamlessly in key, and this time comes bookended by spoken word extracts from his long-running Outspoken project. 'Buzzin' Fly Vol. 4' tracklist 1 BarBQ / Barbi In Love 1a Ben Watt and Jennifer Valone / Approaching Phantoms (Extract) 2 Pedro Madeira / Long Shadows 3 Ben Watt / Just A Blip 4 Abyss / Mind Games 5 The Green Men / Blink 6 Manoo and François A / Magnètic 7 Martin Brodin / Freaky Bleepy 8 Mlle Caro and Franck Garcia / Lost 9 Figurines / Silver Ponds (Ben Watt Dub) 10 Kimouts / Down To Earth 11 Justin Martin / The Sad Piano (Jimpster Remix) 11a Ben Watt and Jennifer Valone / Approaching Phantoms (Extract) 'Buzzin' Fly Vol. 4' mixed by Ben Watt is out on Buzzin’ Fly on May 21, 2007.