The Bug reveals new album with Dis Fig called In Blue on Hyperdub

  • Share
  • The 12-track LP is out in late November.
  • The Bug reveals new album with Dis Fig called In Blue on Hyperdub image
  • This November, Kevin Martin will put out his first full-length as The Bug since 2017, a collaboration with Dis Fig for Hyperdub. The duo refers to the style they established on the forthcoming LP, In Blue, as "tunnel sound." The 12 tracks mix intimate vocals from Dis Fig (American-born, Berlin-based artist Felicia Chen) with the dread-tinged dub central to Martin's The Bug project. Martin originally created the tracks underpinning In Blue for a 2018 Solid Steel radio show in which he mixed new instrumentals with Jamaican riddims. He was searching for a specific voice to bring the productions to life when he contacted Chen, who had just shared her debut album, Purge, with him. The full-length is the product of two years of "lab exchanges" and was mixed during lockdown at Martin's Brussels home. This is Martin's first full-length as The Bug since 2017's full-length collaboration with Earth, Concrete Desert. Since then, he's put out the Wrecked LP as Zonal with Justin Broadrick, the RA-recommended King Midas Sound album, Solitude, and a slew of material on Bandcamp under his given name. In June, we took a look at The Bug's classic 2007 single for Hyperdub, Skeng feat. Killa P & Flowdan, as part of our Rewind series. Check out the video for "You."
    Tracklist 01. Around Me 02. Come 03. Destroy Me 04. Blood 05. In 2 U 06. Levitating 07. Forever 08. Blue To Black 09. Take 10. No Return 11. You 12. End In Blue Hyperdub will release In Blue on November 27th, 2020. Photo credit: Caroline Lessire, Sylvie Weber