Róisín Murphy's new album, Róisín Machine, is coming in September

  • Share
  • The LP, her first since 2016, was made with longtime collaborator Crooked Man.
  • Róisín Murphy's new album, Róisín Machine, is coming in September image
  • Róisín Murphy will release her next album, titled Róisín Machine, on September 25th via Skint and BMG. The album, which was made with Murphy's regular collaborator Crooked Man, AKA DJ Parrot, follows 2015's Hairless Toys (which was nominated for a Mercury Prize) and 2016's Take Her Up To Monto, as well as her four-EP project with Maurice Fulton in 2018. Among its ten tracks are previously released singles like "Narcissus" and "Murphy's Law." Murphy today released new single "Something More," which was written by Amy Douglas. "I asked her to write me a song about never being full or satisfied, exponential need," Murphy says. "She sent a very basic but brilliant demo very soon after, just her singing and playing a piano. The challenge then is to get the music direction right, the arrangement and the voicing." Murphy described "Something More" as "a swansong to how we once lived, there's plenty of bravado in the lyrics and the character is a kind of antihero but the indefinable yearning and the feeling of arriving at a point of emptiness is universal right now!" Listen to "Something More."
    Tracklist 01. Simulation 02. Kingdom Of Ends 03. Something More 04. Shellfish Mademoiselle 05. Incapable 06. We Got Together 07. Murphy's Law 08. Game Changer 09. Narcissus 10. Jealousy Skint / BMG will release Róisín Machine on September 25th, 2020. Photo credit: Adrian Samson