Sun Ra Arkestra reveals first album in 20 years

  • Share
  • The Marshall Allen-led band will put out an LP on Strut in October.
  • Sun Ra Arkestra reveals first album in 20 years image
  • The Sun Ra Arkestra has released a new single, "Seductive Fantasy," on Strut. It's the first taste of the legendary avant-jazz unit's first studio album in 20 years, which drops in October according to The Wire. The four-minute track is a reinterpretation of "Seductive Fantasy," originally recorded for the 1979 LP On Jupiter. The Arkestra now consists of bandleader Marshal Allen on alto saxophone, Danny Ray Thompson on baritone saxophone and flute, Michael Ray on trumpet, Cecil Brooks on trumpet, Vincent Chancey on French horn, Dave Davis on trombone, Farid Barron on piano, Dave Hotep on guitar, Tyler Mitchell on bass, Wayne Anthony Smith Jr on drums, Elson Nascimento on surdo drums and percussion, Stanley "Atakatune" Morgan on congas and Tara Middleton on vocals. (Thompson passed away since the recording.) The late Sun Ra's music, carried on by Allen and the Arkestra, has been extremely influential on dance music figures such as the recently deceased Mike Huckaby and Hieroglyphic Being, who has recorded and performed live with Allen and Thompson. Watch the video for Sun Ra Arkestra's "Seductive Fantasy," directed and animated by Chad Van Gaalen.