Nyege Nyege Tapes announces debut album from Metal Preyers

  • Share
  • The group recorded the album, out tomorrow, with Lord Tusk over six weeks in Kampala last year.
  • Nyege Nyege Tapes announces debut album from Metal Preyers image
  • The next release on Nyege Nyege Tapes is the debut album from Metal Preyers. Metal Preyers is a loose group consisting of core members Jesse Hackett (who has played keyboard in the Gorillaz live band) and Chicago's Mariano Chavez, who together have a project called Teeth Agency. This newest endeavour came out of a six-week trip to Kampala, Uganda, with London producer Lord Tusk. They recorded the self-titled LP with a handful of Ugandan musicians, including Otim Alpha, Omutaba, Ocen and Lawrence Okello. Metal Preyers, which follows the release of a limited cassette called The Preying Well back in January, encompasses singeli, acholi, jungle, industrial and ambient, according to the label. It's out tomorrow, March 6th. Listen to "The Caller."
    Tracklist 01. Metal Preyers 02. Hard Screw 03. Peppa 04. Gizzards 05. Snake Sacrifice 06. The Caller 07. Musota Kizinga 08. Mutaba-Abba 09. Night Walk 10. Wagani 11. Snake Spit Defender 12. Slither Dripper 13. Double Tongue 14. Skull Head Stompeed 15. Metal Preyers Reprise Nyege Nyege Tapes will release Metal Preyers on March 6th, 2020.