Pioneering Japanese house producer Shinichiro Yokota reveals career retrospective

  • Share
  • Ultimate Yokota 1991 - 2019 brings together 12 tracks—including a new one with Soichi Terada—by "one of Japan's unsung heroes of House."
  • Pioneering Japanese house producer Shinichiro Yokota reveals career retrospective image
  • Sound Of Vast is releasing a compilation of Shinichiro Yokota's work. Ultimate Yokota 1991 - 2019 collects 12 tracks by "one of Japan's unsung heroes of house," according to the Amsterdam-based Japanese label. Most of the compilation is Yokota's original solo work, though there's a remix of Manabu Nagayama & Masakazu Uehata's "Sora Sky Magic" and a new track made with formative influence, longtime collaborator and friend, Soichi Terada. "In the late '80s, my obsession towards house music began, and the biggest influence I had was through Soichi Terada. I went to his house almost every week and watched him perform his magic with synthesizers, samplers and sequencers," Yokota says. "'TOKYO 018' is a track Soichi and myself collaborated on for the first time in 15 years. Not all the tracks on this record is produced with Soichi, but it's safe to say that all my tracks have been influenced by and 'created' together with him." The strong personal and sonic connection to Terada has caused some confusion over the years. "Many people mistakenly think 'Do It Again' is Soichi Terada's work because of the wrong credits on YouTube," Terada himself clarifies, "but at least those of you who love this record will be reaffirming the beautiful sound that Shinichiro Yokota is creating." Yokota frequently released on Terada's label Far East Recordings and appeared on Rush Hour's 2015 compilation, Sounds From The Far East, by Hunee. Yokota's last release on Far East was the 2016 album, Do It Again And Again. This year, Sound Of Vast is marking its fifth anniversary with a series of five EPs from the likes of Cosmin TRG, The Mole, Akiko Kiyama and more. Listen to clips of Ultimate Yokota 1991 - 2019.
    Tracklist A1 Shinichiro Yokota - Bells A2 Shinichiro Yokota - Night Drive A3 Shinichiro Yokota - Gaming Man B1 Shinichiro Yokota - Right Here! Right Now! B2 Shinichiro Yokota - Machibouke B3 Manabu Nagayama & Masakazu Uehata - Sora Sky Magic (Shinichiro Yokota Remix) C1 Shinichiro Yokota - Timeless C2 Shinichiro Yokota - This Moment C3 Shinichiro Yokota - Time Traveling D1 Shinichiro Yokota - I Know You Like It D2 Shinichiro Yokota - Take Yours D3 Shinichiro Yokota & Soichi Terada - Tokyo 018 (Watashiwa Tokyo Suki) (Ultimate Version) Sounds Of Vast will release Ultimate Yokota 1991 - 2019 on October 21st, 2019.