Ólafur Arnalds reveals next album, re:member, made with new self-playing piano software

  • Share
  • Full details for the record, which is due out in August, follow the April release of its title track.
  • Ólafur Arnalds reveals next album, re:member, made with new self-playing piano software image
  • Ólafur Arnalds will release his next album re:member, through Mercury KX in August. The Icelandic multi-instrumentalist and composer's fourth solo LP finds him working with Stratus, a piece of computer software he programmed over two years in collaboration with Halldór Eldjárn. It uses MIDI values triggered by what Arnalds plays on his primary piano (equipped with a Moog Piano Bar) to generate different sequences on two player pianos. The process can create randomized feedback and lead to progressions that might be unplayable by conventional methods. Arnalds has described it as a way to change up his creative thinking: "You get ideas that you would never get otherwise, just because this inspired those ideas." Besides highlighting the Stratus setup—and using the software to generate its cover artwork—Arnalds also makes use of strings, synths, electronics and live percussion on re:member. Arnalds first gave us a taste of the album came back in April, when he released its title track. He is currently taking re:member on an international tour, performing next at Sónar on Friday, June 15th. Watch a video for album track "unfold," which features vocals from UK artist SOHN.
    You can also watch two videos on the Stratus software.
    Tracklist 01. re:member 02. unfold feat. SOHN 03. saman 04. brot 05. inconsist 06. they sink 07. ypsilon 08. partial 09. momentary 10. undir 11. ekki hugsa 12. nyepi Mercury KX will release re:member on August 24th, 2018. Photo credit: Benjamin Hardman

    • Fri, Jun 15, 2018

      Sónar 2018 by Day - Friday

      Jamz Supernova, Diplo, Kampire, Black Coffee, Emma-Jean Thackray, Suzanne Kraft, Jonny Nash, Cora Novoa, SOPHIE, Studio Barnhus, Henry Saiz, Alva Noto, Laurel Halo, Russell Haswell, Chino Amobi, Rosa Pistola, James Murphy, 2ManyDJs