Floating Points soundtracks short film, Reflections - Mojave Desert

  • Share
  • It's being jointly released in June by Luaka Bop and Sam Shepherd's own label, Pluto.
  • Floating Points soundtracks short film, Reflections - Mojave Desert image
  • Floating Points has soundtracked a 27-minute film, titled Reflections - Mojave Desert. The film, which was directed by Anna Diaz Ortuño, features all-new material from Floating Points, real name Sam Shepherd. Its five tracks were recorded by Shepherd and his band in the Mojave Desert as they prepared for their 2016 tour of the US. "Whilst we were out playing and exploring the area around us—the sound reflecting from the rocks, the sound of the wind between them, complete stillness at night and packs of roaming coyotes in the distance, it became apparent that we could use this as its own unique recording environment," Shepherd explains. Reflections - Mojave Desert is the first in a series of planned Floating Points releases made in different spots around the globe. It'll be released on June 30th through David Byrne's Luaka Bop and Shepherd's own Pluto label, as both a short film and a soundtrack. Ambient sounds creep into the recording, with bird calls and the sound of wind captured by microphones that were placed in the desert. Watch a trailer for the film.
    Tracklist 01. Mojave Desert 02. Silurian Blue 03. Kites 04. Kelso Dunes 05. Lucerne Valley Pluto and Luaka Bop will release Reflections - Mojave Desert on June 30th, 2017.