DMA's 2003 nominees announced, voting open

  • Published
    Mon, 11 Aug 2003, 07:55
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • DMA's 2003 nominees announced, voting open image
  • Voting is now open for the 2003 Motorola Dance Music Awards to be held on November 12 at the Parade Theatre, NIDA, Sydney. The night will feature premier live dance acts including Etherfox and more to be announced in the coming weeks. The National Industry nominating panel has put forward their votes and the top four nominees have been compiled. An added bonus for all those who vote is the opportunity to win fantastic prizes. To view the full list of nominations and more info on all voting procedures and the list of prizes look below: The full list of nominees are: Best Video Clip ‘Brand New Day’ - GT –– Collider ‘Set It Off’ – Resin Dogs –– Phil Martin ‘One Of My Kind’ – Rogue Traders – Sam Bennet - Vixen (Animatrix by Rising Sun) ‘Uprock This’ - Katalyst –– Sixty40 Productions Best Urban Act Camielle Jeremy Gregory Selwyn Shakaya Best Debut Artist Downsyde Etherfox Jeremy Gregory Rogue Traders Best Live Act 1200 Techniques Infusion Nubreed Resin Dogs Best Remix D.A.M.N remix of Crazy Penis ‘You Started Something’ Danielsan remix of Katalyst ‘Passing of Peace’ Ivan Gough + Colin Snape remix of Icehouse ‘Don’t Believe Anymore’ Poxymusic Vs Kid Kenobi remix of Green Velvet ‘La La Land’ Best Compilation A Night Out with Vicious Grooves – Vicious Vinyl If It Ain’t Broken Don’t Fix It 2 – Inertia Habitat – Clan Analogue ObeseCity – Obese Records Best Producer Andy Page Ashley Anderson Infusion (Jamie Stevens, Manuel Sharrad and Frank Xavier) Luke Chable Best Independent Label Creative Vibes Hussle Recordings Hydrofunk Records Vicious Vinyl Best Mix CD Phil K – ‘Balance 004’ –– EQ Recordings Goodwill + Wok Institute – ‘Alfresco Soiree’ –– Hussle Recordings Sharif Galal – ‘Dusk at Byron Bay’ –– BMG Kid Kenobi – ‘Clubbers Guide To Breaks 2’–– Ministry of Sound Best Hip Hop Act 1200 Techniques Downsyde Koolism The Herd Best Turntablist Danielsan Dexter Samrai DJ Selekt Best DJ National (tie for fourth place) Groove Terminator John Course Kid Kenobi Mark Dynamix Phil K Best Single Downsyde – ‘Gifted Life’ – Hydrofunk Records Etherfox – ‘The Whirled You Live’ – Hussle Recordings Infusion – ‘Dead Souls’ – Marine Parade Rogue Traders – ‘One of my Kind’ – Vicious Vinyl Best Album 1200 Techniques – ‘Choose One’ – Sony Music Downsyde – ‘Land of the Giants’ – Hydrofunk Records Rogue Traders – ‘We Know What You’re Up To’ - Vicious Vinyl The Herd – ‘An Elefant Never Forgets’ – Elefant Traks The public can also have their say in the People’s Choice categories including - Best DJ and Best Club Night in each state, Best Event National and Best International DJ. Voting for the People’s Choice categories will close on September 12th with the top four being announced in October. Triple J and Channel [V] are primary sponsors in the upcoming Dance Music Awards. Latest news is that the host will be Adam Spencer, the man who did a stella job last year will again hold things together as MC. The Live acts lining up on the evening has also been announced with Wet Musik, Etherfox, Ajax featuring Cam Farrar, Endorphin and Resin Dogs with Good Buddha all adding their musical flavour to the evening. Whilst DJ’s for the after party will be Phil K, BLIM and Illya. The list of category presenters has also been revealed with a host of celebrities and Australian media personalities revealing the DMA winners. They are as below: Category Presenters Best Remix - Thomas Shumacher (international) Best Producer - BLIM (International) Best Debut Artist - Ian ‘Dicko’ Dickson Best Video Clip - Andrew G and Chloe Maxwell Best Turntablist - DJ Pogo Best Mix CD - Andy Van Best Hip Hop act - Sleek The Elite Best Single - Nick Bennet Best DJ (national) - Imogen Bailey Best Urban Act - Maya Jupiter and Rodney O Best compilation - Neil Ackland Best event Peoples choice - Sharif Galal Best DJ Peoples choice - Nicole Fossati Outstanding Contribution to Dance - Paul Mac (2002 winner)
Are you a promoter?Submit event

© 2021 Resident Advisor Ltd. All rights reserved.