Erased Tapes marks tenth birthday with free compilation featuring Nils Frahm, Ólafur Arnalds

  • Share
  • They've also opened a spot in East London where fans can buy records and play on Frahm's custom piano.
  • Erased Tapes marks tenth birthday with free compilation featuring Nils Frahm, Ólafur Arnalds image
  • Erased Tapes is celebrating ten years in business with a free compilation. Erased Tapes Collection VII features a few new signings to the label: Penguin Cafe (the successor to legendary ensemble Penguin Cafe Orchestra) and Brandt Brauer Frick's Daniel Brandt, along with Peter Broderick's new project, Allred & Broderick. The collection also gathers up recent highlights from the London label's catalogue, including cuts by A Winged Victory For The Sullen, Rival Consoles, Douglas Dare and Vessel (collaborating with Immix Ensemble). Erased Tapes breakout star Nils Frahm appears twice—there's an excerpt of his collaboration with Woodkid, also featuring Robert De Niro, along with a Ryan Davis remix of "00:26," a 2016 track Frahm made in collaboration with Olafur Arnalds. As part of the celebration, the label also opened its new Erased Tapes Sound Gallery in East London, where fans can buy records and merchandise, and play on Nils Frahm's custom piano. "I hope that this music helps the listener as much as it helps me to keep imagining, keep focusing, keep awake in a time when silence and peace is so hard to come by," says label owner Robert Raths. "May our new space provide a haven, reflecting these values we share and allowing people to find a moment to slow down in this fast-paced world we live in." Tracklist 01. Allred & Broderick - The Ways 02. Penguin Cafe - Cantorum 03. Daniel Brandt - Kale Me 04. Rival Consoles - Slow Song 05. A Winged Victory For The Sullen - Galerie 06. Ben Lukas Boysen - Golden Times 1 07. Ólafur Arnalds & Nils Frahm - 00:26 (Ryan Davis Rethink) 08. Douglas Dare - Rex 09. Immix Ensemble & Vessel - Scope 10. Woodkid & Nils Frahm - Winter Morning II (w/ Robert De Niro) [Excerpt] 11. Peter Broderick - Eyes Closed While Traveling Erased Tapes Collection VIII is out now.