Douglas J McCarthy, Michael Gira feature on new ADULT. album, Detroit House Guests

  • Share
  • Built from collaborations with six other artists, the Detroit duo's next LP lands on Mute Records in March.
  • Douglas J McCarthy, Michael Gira feature on new ADULT. album, Detroit House Guests image
  • ADULT.'s next album is scheduled for a March release via Mute Records. Detroit House Guests will be the first LP from Adam Lee Miller and Nicola Kuperus to land on Mute. Every track on the album is a collaboration with another artist, who each "came to ADULT.'s studio for a three-week period with the parameter that they all live, work and collaborate together." Nitzer Ebb's Douglas J McCarthy and Michael Gira, best known for leading the experimental rock group Swans, were invited to join the cause, along with Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe (AKA Lichens), Light Asylum's Shannon Funchess, Dorit Chrysler and Lun*na Menoh. The album was first conceived in the early 2000s, and was finally made with the support of a 2014 grant from the John S. & James L. Knight Foundation. Miller is also seeing material from his Le Car collaboration with Ian Clarke assembled into a retrospective on Clone Classic Cuts next month. (One of those Le Car cuts recently got the nod for our New Tracks feed.) Watch a somewhat spooky trailer for Detroit House Guests.
    Tracklist 01. P rts M ss ng feat. Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe 02. Breathe On feat. Michael Gira 03. Into The Drum feat. Lun*na Menoh 04. We Are A Mirror feat. Douglas J McCarthy 05. Enter The Fray feat. Dorit Chrysler 06. Uncomfortable Positions feat. Lun*na Menoh 07. We Chase The Sound feat. Shannon Funchess 08. They're Just Words feat. Douglas J McCarthy 09. Inexhaustible feat. Dorit Chrysler 10. Stop (And Start Again) feat. Shannon Funchess 11. This Situation feat. Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe 12. As You Dream feat. Michael Gira Mute Records will release Detroit House Guests on March 17th, 2017.