Efficient Space announces new all-Australian compilation, Oz Waves

  • Published
    Wed, 23 Nov 2016, 09:25
  • Share
  • The collection of '80s DIY recordings, curated by Steele Bonus, will be released in February of 2017.
  • Efficient Space announces new all-Australian compilation, Oz Waves image
  • Oz Waves, a new compilation by Australian selector Steele Bonus, will be released on Efficient Space in February. The fourth release on the Noise In My Head sub-label continues on the imprint's journey through forgotten Australian music from the cultural fringe, collecting ten DIY recordings from between 1982 and 1989. The label says the compilation of "misfit synth-punk, tape loop experiments and inner city pop" comes mostly from rare cassette releases, ranging from editions of five to 100, and is "definitive proof that inhabitants of the Down Underground were links in a global network of creative kooks." A number of the tracks, directly sourced from the artists' private archives, will be officially released for the first time. The title Oz Waves nods to Bonus's self-released 2014 compilation, Odd Waves, which stemmed from a three-mix series of "oddball synth pop, punk-funk and Euro disco boogie." His graphic design has been seen on the sleeves of all four Efficient Space records, as well as on labels like Music From Memory and Safe Trip. Stream He Dark Age's "Holding Out For Eden."
    Tracklist 01. Irena Xero - Lady On The Train 02. Andy Rantzen - Will I Dream? 03. Prod - Knife On Top 04. Software Seduction - New Collision 05. Ironing Music - Don't Wish It Away 06. He Dark Age - Holding Out For Eden 07. The Horse He's Sick - Larynx 08. MK Ultra & The Assassins of Light - Jesus Krist Klap Rap (Orthodox Mix) 09. Moral Fibro - Take A Walk in the Sun 10. Zerox Dreamflesh - Squids Can Fly Efficient Space will release Oz Waves on February 17th, 2017.