Warp details new Danny Brown album, Atrocity Exhibition

  • Published
    Tue, 16 Aug 2016, 16:37
  • Share
  • Kelela and Kendrick Lamar feature on the LP, which also has Evian Christ on production.
  • Warp details new Danny Brown album, Atrocity Exhibition image
  • Warp has announced Danny Brown's next album, Atrocity Exhibition, due out in September. The Detroit rapper signed to Warp in June and released a video for the Atrocity Exhibition cut "When It Rain." Now he's revealed the tracklist, which features Kendrick Lamar, Earl Sweatshirt and Kelela, plus production from UK experimentalist Evian Christ. He also noted that the album required a $70,000 budget for clearing samples. “A lot of people [are] cheap," he told Rolling Stone. "That's why their music sounds cheap. I wanna make timeless stuff, so you're gonna have to spend a couple dollars. You could have Rolex or you can have a Swatch.” It's inspired by Raekwon, early Björk, Talking Heads and System Of A Down's Toxicity album, Brown says. Atrocity Exhibition is a reference to the Joy Division song of the same name from 1980. "I just relate to that song a lot," says Brown. "[Ian Curtis is] pretty much talking about how he feels like he's part of a freak show almost. People just wanna come see him and they just wanna see him be a certain type of way." Watch the video for "When It Rain."
    Tracklist 01. Downward Spiral 02. Tell Me What I Don't Know 03. Rolling Stone feat. Petite Noir 04. Really Doe feat. Kendrick Lamar, Ab-Soul & Earl Sweatshirt 05. Lost 06. Ain't It Funny 07. Goldust 08. White Lines 09. Pneumonia 10. Dance In The Water 11. From The Ground feat. Kelela 12. When It Rain 13. Today 14. Get Hi feat. B-Real 15. Hell For It Warp will release Atrocity Exhibition on September 30th, 2016.