Teklife to release posthumous DJ Rashad album, Afterlife

  • Published
    Mon, Feb 29, 2016, 22:08
  • Share
  • The Chicago crew will inaugurate their label with an album of Rashad tracks co-produced by other Teklife members.
  • Teklife to release posthumous DJ Rashad album, Afterlife image
  • Teklife's first release is a posthumous DJ Rashad album featuring members of their collective. The Chicago footwork crew announced plans for their new label last summer. Now they've shared details of its first release, a collection of DJ Rashad tracks co-produced by his close friends and associates. It's due out just under two years after his passing. "Afterlife is testament to an incredible breadth of influences and love of music with soul, hip-hop, house, techno and many more all brought together at 160 BPM," the label writes. "Rashad's presence is felt throughout in the boundless energy and creativity which run through the album, whilst each collaborator brings their personal touch to the compositions." Collaborators include elder statesmen like Gant-Man, DJ Spinn and Traxman, as well as young guns like DJ Paypal, DJ Earl and DJ Taye. A percentage of the proceeds will go to DJ Rashad's family. Below you can listen to the album's bonus cut provided by Microglobe and Machinedrum.
    Tracklist 01. Roll Up That Loud feat. DJ Spinn & Taso 02. Get Fuk'd Up feat. Gant-Man 03. Lets Roll Out feat. DJ Manny & DJ Spinn 04. Come Close feat. DJ Phil 05. Wear Her Pussy Out feat. DJ Earl 06. Oh God feat. DJ Spinn 07. Ratchet City feat. Gant-Man & DJ Manny 08. Get You Burnt feat. DJ Taye 09. Pass That feat. Tripletrain & DJ Spinn 10. Tony Montana feat. Boylan & DJ Manny 11. Yeah We Do This feat. DJ Tre 12. Lost Worlds feat. Traxman 13. Do U Wanna B Mine feat. DJ Spinn & DJ Paypal 14. Roll A Tree feat. DJ Manny Teklife will release Afterlife on April 8th, 2016.