Pantha Du Prince announces new album, The Triad

  • Share
  • The German producer will release his first LP in six years via Rough Trade this May.
  • Pantha Du Prince announces new album, The Triad image
  • Pantha Du Prince will release his next album, The Triad, via Rough Trade on May 20th. The producer born Hendrik Weber hasn't released a solo LP since 2010's Black Noise, a record Derek Miller said retained Pantha's trademark "winter-sky cinematism" in his review for RA. In the time since, he recorded a full-length with The Bell Laboratory (2013's Elements Of Light), and started working with The Triad, a group of musicians which includes Scott Mou (the former Other Music employee who releases as Queens on Dial), and Bendik Kjeldsberg, who plays in the aforementioned bell ensemble. Weber says this milieu informed the organic working methods leading up to the new album: "Black Noise was very much about me being alone in a small room in Berlin and composing," he says. "The Triad opens the structure to more human ways of interacting, not digitized ways of interacting. It's not about Facebook; it's about meeting up and jamming. I wanted to cut through the digital dust that surrounds us." The album, due in May, follows a surprise 12-inch called The Winter Hymn, out today. Check out the video for that track below.
    Tracklist The Winter Hymn A The Winter Hymn feat Queens B Post Human Palisades feat. Bendik & Kassian The Triad 01. The Winter Hymn feat. Queens 02. You What? Euphoria! 03. Frau im Mond, Sterne Laufen 04. In An Open Space feat. Queens 05. Chasing Vapour Trails feat. Joachim Schultz & Kassian von Troyer 06. Lichterschmaus 07. Dream Yourself Awake 08. Lions Love feat. Joachim 09. Islands In The Sky 10. Wallflower For Pale Saints Rough Trade will release The Triad on May 20th, 2016. The Winter Hymn is out today.