Dark Entries announces Boytronic reissue

  • Share
  • Josh Cheon's label will also drop retrospectives on Shoc Corridor and Liquid G next month.
  • Dark Entries announces Boytronic reissue image
  • Dark Entries has announced three new reissues. The San Francisco label has a knack for unearthing forgotten '80s post-punk, Italo and synth pop gems. After releasing collection of tracks by Second Layer last month, the imprint turns its attention to Boytronic, a synth pop group from Hamburg, Germany. The duo of Holger Wobker and Peter Sawatzki formed in 1982, making music to soundtrack sex shows on Hamburg's "mile of sin." Wobker started working at a record shop and playing Boytronic demos in the store. A Mercury Records rep heard the songs and signed the band, who would go on to release two albums and score several European hits, including the reissue EP's title track, "Bryllyant." The label eventually claimed rights to the band name and fabricated a new group which would perform as Boytronic until the mid-'90s. On the reissue, Wobker says: "What you hold in your hands now is a trip back to the rousing '80s in Germany, in the post-punk era, when everybody wore awful clothes and painted their hair with crazy colours. Mine was pink...enjoy." The other records are more obscure. There's a compilation from Liquid G. (Liquid Garbage), the project of Belgian EBM artist Peter van Bogaert. Liquid G. was prolific in the late '80s, and the collection draws from nine cassette albums he released on his own Liquid Produkts. The press release says the Liquidation LP "captures the DIY synth-punk ethos of Cabaret Voltaire, The Screamers, and Nervous Gender." The label will also issue Experiments In Incest, a six-track EP from early '80s post-punk group Shoc Corridor, a London band made up of Paul O'Carroll, Andy Garnham, Chris Davis and Nogi Prass. Listen to clips of Boytronic's Bryllyant below.
    Tracklist Boytronic - Bryllyant 01. Bryllyant (33⅓ Plus 8 Remix) 02. Trigger Track 03. Bryllyant (U.S. Remix) 04. You (12″ Extended Mix) Liquid G. - Liquidation 01. Liquidation 02. The Power Of.. 03. Selfdestruction 04. Never Land 05. Suicide 06. Short Circuit 07. Inside -- Outside 08. Pressure 09. Aversion Shoc Corridor - Experiments In Incest 01. Khartoum 02. On Reflexion 03. Artificial Horizon 04. Iceberg 05. In An Empty Room 06. Travelling By Hand Dark Entries will release Bryllyant, Liquidation and Experiments In Incest on September 25th, 2015.
Are you a promoter?Submit event

© 2021 Resident Advisor Ltd. All rights reserved.