Optimo Music announce post-punk compilation

  • Share
  • JD Twitch has curated the 16-track release, due out in early July.
  • Optimo Music announce post-punk compilation image
  • JD Twitch's Optimo Music is releasing a compilation dedicated to post-punk music from the late '70s and early '80s. One of the era's defining slogans—"it's easy, it's cheap, go out and do it"—appears on the sleeve of Now That’s What I Call DIY! (Cult Classics from the Post-Punk Era 1978-82). All 16 tracks were originally released as 7-inch singles. "If punk was the nuclear detonation, the fallout that came after was where a lot of the most interesting music of that era was made," says JD Twitch. "People who would never have thought to release a record before realised it was something they could do, and the end result was a DIY explosion." Twitch adds: "None of them had any success, most are (unjustly) obscure but every one of them has inspired me and would be in my ultimate 7-inch singles box." The 16-track double-vinyl version of the compilation comes with detailed notes of each track written by JD Twitch, as well as an introduction by Dan Selzer. There will also be a 13-track digital version. Tracklist 01. Tesco Bombers – Break The Ice At Parties 02. Sara Goes Pop – Sexy Terrorist 03. People In Control – When It's War 04. Nancy Sesay & The Melodaires – C'est Fab 05. The Distributors – TV Me 06. Dorothy – Softness 07. Thomas Leer – Private Plane 08. Visitors – Electric Heat 09. The Murphy Federation – Fed Up Skank 10. The Distributors – Never Never 11. The Cro-tones – Tea Machine Dub 12. Fatal Microbes – Violence Grows 13. The Spunky Onions – How I Lost My Virginity 14. The Fakes – Look Out 15. The 012 – Meltdown Situation 16. The Prats – Disco Pope Optimo Music will release Now That’s What I Call DIY! (Cult Classics from the Post-Punk Era 1978-82) in early July 2015.