John Frusciante to release experimental acid house album

  • Share
  • The former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist will release an LP under his Trickfinger alias through Acid Test.
  • John Frusciante to release experimental acid house album image
  • Acid Test will release a self-titled LP by John Frusciante on April 7th. Since RA elected Acid Test as label of the month in 2012, the vinyl-focused label has released 303-oriented dance music from Tin Man, Pépé Bradock and Achterbahn D'Amour. As such, the alliance with the former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist comes as a surprise, though less so in light of Frusciante's involvement in the Speed Dealer Moms project, a collaboration with Aaron Funk (AKA Venetian Snares) released on Timesig in 2010. Frusciante's solo guitar records, issued via Warner Brothers and its sub-label Record Collection, have built a cult following. The LA resident has also recently been producing for rap duo Black Knights. Frusciante describes his path to acid house in a letter included with the album.
    "I started being serious about following my dream to make electronic music, and to be my own engineer, five years ago. For the 10 years prior to that, I had been playing guitar along with a wide range of different types of programmed synthesizer and sample-based music, emulating what I heard as best as I could. I found that the languages machines forced programmers to think in had caused them to discover a new musical vocabulary... In 2007, I started to learn how to program all the instruments we associate with acid house music and some other hardware. For about seven months I didn’t record anything. Then I started recording, playing 10 or so synced machines through a small mixer into a CD burner. This was all experimental acid house, my skills at making rock music playing no part in it whatsoever. I had lost interest in traditional songwriting and I was excited about finding new methods for creating music. I’d surround myself with machines, program one and then another and enjoy what was a fascinating process from beginning to end…"
    The LP's opening track, "After Below," is streaming now.
    Tracklist 01. After Below 02. Before Above 03. Rainover 04. Sain 05. Exlam 06. 85h 07. 4:30 08. Phurip Acid Test will release Trickfinger on April 7th, 2015.