Black Ocean plans releases from Soda Plains and M.E.S.H.

  • Share
  • The Finnish label's next two 12-inches will land in December and January.
  • Black Ocean plans releases from Soda Plains and M.E.S.H. image
  • Black Ocean has revealed details of two forthcoming EPs for this winter. The young Finnish imprint was started last year by duo Renaissance Man and is largely the concern of Berlin-based member Ville Haimala. It launched with an EP from the two artists themselves, and has since had an open remit, with each release carrying the slogan "No Beat Is Illegal." Its seventh and eighth 12-inches are set to come from rising Berliners Soda Plains and M.E.S.H.. Soda Plains, who spent time in the UK and Hong Kong before moving to Berlin, garnered attention earlier this year with an all-original mix for DIS Magazine, outlining an adventurous, vapourware-inspired sound. Rushes will be his first official drop, and a press release describes it as "dance music stripped of any territorial markers: trans-everything garage, global funky, pan-club, decentralized grime." Due out in early December, it'll be followed in January by a new EP from M.E.S.H., who made his own official debut on PAN earlier this year. Further transmissions are planned from mysterious outfit Initiative and Russian producer N'Bome, but details of those ones are still scarce. Check out a new video for Soda Plains' "Aethelflaed" below.
    Tracklist Soda Plains - Rushes 01. Rushes 02. Not Tonight M.E.S.H. - Infra-Dawn / Infra-Dusk 01. Infra-Dawn 02. Infra-Dusk Black Ocaen will release Rushes on December 8th, 2014 and Infra-Dawn / Infra-Dusk on January 26th, 2015.