Danny Howells mixes Balance 24

  • Share
  • The two-disc compilation features tracks from Axel Boman, The Mole and Prins Thomas.
  • Danny Howells mixes Balance 24 image
  • Danny Howells has compiled the latest instalment in the Balance mix series. Balance 024: Danny Howells arrives as the latest in a long line of compilations from the veteran British DJ, which includes mixes for Renaissance, Global Underground and his own Dig Deeper imprint. "I had a brief discussion with Balance a few years back so knew (hoped!) that a release was possibly still on the cards", says Howells. "Since then I was always semi-consciously thinking about the tracks I was buying and playing that I thought would be suited to an album. I’m talking about tracks that don’t really age, and that mainly have some kind of soulful edge, with gorgeous, subtle melodies and so on. When the album idea was confirmed earlier this year it just boiled down to me filtering all those tracks I’d hoarded, making sure I focused on the ones that still did something to me, even after God knows how many listens." Split across two discs, the mix captures Howells' signature deep sound. He cites this year's Glastonbury as inspiration for some of his selections on the first disc, deciding to include tracks from The Mole and Will Saul's remix of Michael Mayer "one morning when the sun was rising and we’d all had a bit of a 'moment' up on the hill." Axel Boman, Jamie xx and KiNK also feature. The second disc pushes proceedings deeper still, starting with the balearic sounds of Essay before moving onto records from Chopstick & Johnjon, Prins Thomas and Australian three-piece Jagwar Ma. Tracklist That mix 01. Essay – Find You (Desolate’s Get Together Mix) 02. Four Tet – Lion (Jamie XX remix) 03. Lady Blacktronika – Song Of Love Overdue 04. Ivano Tetelepta – Smokin’ G 05. Michael Mayer – Mantasy (Will Saul & October Mix) 06. The Mole – Our Time Has Come 07. The Mole – A Daily Affair 08. Joakim – Another Light 09. Jimpster – Porchlight And Rocking Chairs (KiNK Remix) 10. Sisterhood – Call Me Ishmael 11. Robot Needs Oil – Mood Swings (Simon Garcia Remix) 12. Ian Pooley – I Got You (Matthias Vogt Remix) 13. Nicco – Its Over (Oxia Remix) 14. A.W.O.L. – The Ramp 15. Alland Byallo – A Red Dilemma (Brooks Mosher Spirit Box remix) 16. Axel Boman – Look What You’ve Done To Me This mix 01. Maricopa – Neon Shoals 02. Campion – Ekul (Soul Renegades remix) [Audio Parallax Records] 03. Shur-I-Kan – One Ten 04. Sixth Avenue Express – Can’t Stop Feelin’ (Deep Sound Express Dub) 05. Seva K – Falling (Original Mix) 06. Durerstuben – Haeckls Kosmos 07. Chopstick & Johnjon ft. Signaljacker – Roots (Original Instrumental Mix) 08. Le Loup – Brotherland (Daze Maxim’s remix) 09. Rompante – Save Me From This Kaos 10. Kaltehand / Natasha Waters – Pages (Ewan Pearson Remix) 11. Crimea X – Yev (Prins Thomas Diskomiks remix) 12. Crimea X – Dream is Gone (Prins Thomas Diskomiks remix) 13. Jagwar Ma – Four 14. Sandrien – Haters Balance Music will release Balance 024: Danny Howells on November 25th, 2013.