L.I.E.S. makes Music For Shut-Ins

  • Share
  • Billed as "club music for people who hate going to the club," the label's second compilation features material from Beautiful Swimmers, Legowelt, Beau Wanzer and XOSAR.
  • L.I.E.S. makes Music For Shut-Ins image
  • L.I.E.S. will release a two-disc compilation called Music For Shut-Ins in December. Music For Shut-Ins follows last year's American Noise compilation, and, as with that release, it'll offer one disc of tracks put out in the past year alongside a second disc of new material. Some of 2013's best-received L.I.E.S. tracks—such as Florian Kupfer's "Feelin'" and Terekke's "Amaze"—feature on the compilation, as does material from the imprint's white label series (including Daywalker & CF's "You Only Live Once"). Label boss Ron Morelli calls the compilation "a collection of hits, misses, new loves, and future head scratchers running the gamut from floor-ready beat tracks (Legowelt) to post chillout room bleep-hop (Daywalker & CF) to industro-wave anti-beat experimentation (Svengalisghost) with no restrictions or limitations." He adds: "[It's] a document of the immediate energy surrounding these musicians here and now, maybe one can call it club music for people who hate going to the club? Or simply 'Music for Shut-Ins.'" Music For Shut-Ins also rounds up some of the new names who have joined the L.I.E.S. roster in 2013, including Greg Beato, Samantha Vacation and Gunnar Haslam. Unreleased cuts come from Beautiful Swimmers, XOSAR, Jahiliyya Fields, Florian Kupfer and Beau Wanzer among others. The artwork comes from long-time L.I.E.S. collaborator Pete Leonard. A sampler 12-inch featuring tracks from Beautiful Swimmers, Marcos Cabral and Entro & Terri will precede the full compilation. Tracklist CD 1 01. Vapauteen - Basilisk 02. Shadowlust - Jute 03. Marcos Cabral - Virginia 04. Legowelt - Teen Romance 05. Greg Beato - Gimme A Light 06. Svengalisghost - High Heel Sleaze 07. Vereker - Rosite 08. Samantha Vacation - Samantha's Vacation 09. Florian Kupfer - Feelin' 10. Terekke - Amaze 11. Daywalker & CF - You Only Live Once CD 2 01. Marcos Cabral - Dancing On Manhattan 02. Jahiliyya Fields - Untitled 03. Antenes - PBX-555 04. Xosar - Mind Mantra 05. TX Connect - Primal Rage 06. Beautiful Swimmers - The Zoo 07. Florian Kupfer - Unreal (CA Faith Mixx) 08. Beau Wanzer - Crush of Lust 09. Entro & Terri - The Cap 10. Gunnar Haslam - Aisepos L.I.E.S. will release Music For Shut-Ins on December 11th, 2013.