Goldie is The Alchemist

  • Share
  • The drum & bass pioneer will release a three-disc greatest hits collection in March.
  • Goldie is The Alchemist image
  • Goldie will release a compilation called The Alchemist on March 11th. Clifford Price is an important figure in drum & bass history for many reasons. He was arguably the genre's biggest producer in its '90s heyday, reaching mainstream prominence with classic albums like Timeless, and also a renowned DJ in his own right, helping to facilitate the transition from jungle into the drum & bass's current incarnation. He also founded Metalheadz around the same time, the (still active) imprint which became home to some of the genre's most important artists. Timed to mark the 20th year of the UK veteran's recording career, The Alchemist brings together Goldie's best tracks from 1992 to 2012 and puts the spotlight on his own productions, plus remixes for other artists. Its first disc compiles his early jungle-leaning music, including tunes under his Rufige Kru alias, while the second surveys his more adventurous side, featuring work with vocalists Natalie Duncan and Diane Charlemagne. The third and final CD gathers together remixes, including Goldie reworks of other artists (like Björk), as well as his own material remixed by Doc Scott and dBridge. "Single Petal Of A Rose," which appears on disc two, is a brand new song exclusive to The Alchemist. Tracklist CD1 01. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Malice In Wonderland 02. Goldie & Metalheadz - Terminator 03. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Menace 04. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Monkey Boy 05. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Dark Rider 06. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Sometime Sad Day 07. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Shanghai Dub 08. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Rhythm Killa 09. Goldie - Special Request 10. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Babylon 2012 11. Goldie - I'll Be There For You 12. Goldie - Saint Angel 13. Goldie - I Know Who I Am CD2 01. Goldie - Single Petal Of A Rose 02. Goldie - Angel 03. Goldie feat. Natalie Duncan - Freedom (Radio Edit) 04. Goldie - State Of Mind 05. Goldie feat. Natalie Williams - Latin Skin 06. Goldie feat. Diane Charlemagne - What You Won't Do For Love 07. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Beachdrifta 08. Goldie & J Majik - Runway 09. Goldie & 4 Hero - (Internal Affairs) In My Soul 10. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Is This Real VIP 11. Goldie - VIP Riders Ghost 12. Goldie - Sea Of Tears CD3 01. Goldie & Metalheadz - Inner City Life (Baby Boy's Edit) 02. Goldie - Kemistry (Doc Scott Remix) 03. Goldie feat. KRS-One - Digital (Armand Van Helden Remix) 04. Garbage - Milk (Goldie's Completely Trashed Remix) 05. Björk - Isobel (Isobel's Lonely Heart) (Goldie Remix) 06. Ed Sheeran - Lego House (Goldie Remix - Sticklebrick Edit) 07. Bush - Swallowed (Toasted Both Sides Please Goldie Remix) 08. Goldie - Temper Temper (Grooverider Remix) 09. Roni Size & DJ Die - The Calling (Goldie Remix) 10. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Chances (Alix Perez & Sabre Remix) 11. Goldie presents Rufige Kru - Something About You (D-Bridge Remix) Metalheadz will release The Alchemist: The Best Of Goldie 1992-2012 on March 11th, 2013.