bvdub practices The Art of Dying Alone

  • Published
    Wed, 16 Jun 2010, 13:00
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • The ambient practitioner will release a new LP through Italian imprint Glacial Movements next month.
  • bvdub practices The Art of Dying Alone image
  • Ambient producer Brock Van Wey, AKA bvdub, is preparing to release a new full-length, entitled The Art of Dying Alone. While it may be an stretch to dub 2009 as bvdub's "breakthrough," last year did see him caress the attention of the wider electronic music public through his double-disc White Clouds Drift On and On release for Stephen Hitchell's Echospace imprint. Van Wey conversely ended the year on a far more hushed note, putting out the ultra-limited (each copy was hand-numbered) We Were the Sun through Quietus Recordings. This July sees the return of Van Wey to the format. The Art of Dying Alone comprises six pieces, spanning anywhere between eight and 21 minutes, and on the face of the album's track titles ("Nothing from No One," "No More Reasons Not to Fall," "To Finally Forget It All") will see Van Wey continue the emotionally charged yet delicately poised ambient vein of his output hitherto. The LP, which was recorded in his new home in Shaoxing, China, will see release through the Rome-based Glacial Movements. Tracklist 01. Descent to the End 02. Nothing From No One 03. To Finally Forget It All 04. No More Reasons Not to Fall 05. No One Will Ever Find You Here 06. The Art of Dying Alone Glacial Movements will release The Art of Dying Alone in July 2010.