Harmonia and Eno reissue Tracks & Traces

  • Published
    Mon, 6 Jul 2009, 11:00
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • The collaboration between Brian Eno and the legendary Krautrock band will been remastered and reissued with previously unreleased material.
  • Harmonia and Eno reissue Tracks & Traces image
  • Brian Eno and Harmonia's Tracks & Traces collaboration is set to be reissued later this year. Strangely enough, Krautrock legends Harmonia had already split up when Eno approached them to make a record together in 1976, but Michael Rother, Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius decided that they couldn't pass up the opportunity to work with Eno, returning to the studio once more to lay down tracks together for the final time. "Eno brought a great intellect, boundless pleasure in making music and a font of experience in the realm of popular music, and that clearly opened a door that was already closed," explains Roedelius, but surprisingly enough it took over twenty years to see any sort of release. This was partly due to it being generally accepted that Eno had lost the master tapes. Luckily, Roedelius was able to piece together the work from his own copies of Eno's four-track tapes. However, Rother also had a copy he had been storing in his studio, and after digitising the tracks, he found plenty of material that didn't make it onto the first version of the record. "Initially I asked myself what made sense musically, which of the many tracks I particularly liked and which reflected the broad musical scope of our collaboration with Brian Eno the best," states Rother. "The next step was about how best to integrate the selected tracks into the existing album. Instead of the normal practice of tacking them on to the end of the album as bonus tracks, I proposed changing the structure of the album and the order of the tracks. Luckily everyone involved agreed on that." The forthcoming reissue is set to contain three previously unheard tracks, and a remix package including mixes from both Appleblim and Shackleton is also set for release later in the year. Tracklist 01. Welcome 02. Atmosphere 03. Vamos Campaneros 04. By The Riverside 05. Luneburg Heath 06. Sometimes In Autumn 07. Weird Dream 08. Almost 09. Les Demoiselles 10. When Shade Was Born 11. Trace 12. Aubade Groenland Records will release Tracks & Traces on September 19th, 2009.