EX.002 John Roberts

  • Published
    8 Oct 2010
  • Filesize
    116 MB
  • Length
  • The producer behind one of the best deep house records of the year opens up to Resident Advisor.
  • Share
  • Sometimes the best dance music is accidental: John Roberts makes deeply emotional deep house that shouldn't work on the dance floor as well as it does. But, somehow, we can't help but think the American-born and Berlin-based producer has made one of the best dance music albums of the year with Glass Eights. The ten track full-length further pushes the sound he brought forth on a collection of 12-inches for the Dial label over the past two years, yet—as he details in a chat with RA editor Todd L. Burns—it could only exist as an album. This love of the format no doubt comes directly from Roberts' listening habits, a taste that ranges from The Smiths to southern hip-hop, American indie troubadour Bonnie "Prince" Billy to Dizzee Rascal. In our discussion with the producer, we touch on all of those influences, as well as getting at some of his unlikely sample sources and his old-school production methods. And, of course, his love for trashy American reality television.
  • Listen to it via your preferred platform
    Download RA.2 via MP3
    Download RA.2 via iTunes
  • Tracklist
      John Roberts - Hesitate - Dial Juvenile - Ha - Cash Money Frankie Knuckles feat. Jamie Principle - Your Love - Persona John Roberts - Porcelain - Dial John Roberts - Promise - Dial Mr. Fingers - Ammnesia - Jack Trax John Roberts - Sweat Me - Dial Dizzee Rascal - I Luv U - XL Bonnie Prince Billy - I See a Darkness - Palace Records Sten - Part Three - Dial Darkstar - Gold (John Roberts Remix) - Hyperdub A Number of Names - Sharevari - Capriccio John Roberts - Navy Blue - Dial John Roberts - Went - Dial