West Coast Sessions mixed by Jay J and Miguel Migs

  • Share
  • Defected’s first foray on to the West Coast yields a fine pair of mixes, one for the house party from Jay J (recently nominated for a Grammy!) and one for the late lounge from Miguel Migs. Jay J’s mix is bursting with the sort of soulful house and garage that you would expect, not exactly boundary breaking but hugely uplifting. Sir Piers’ ‘Don’t You Love Me’, featuring Monique, blossoms into a great song, whilst Jay J’s own cuts ‘Latinesta’ and ‘Groove Thing’ are well worth hearing. Manijama offers a good take on ‘No No No’, and Michelle Weeks goes gospel on ‘The Light’. Good, positive stuff. Migs heads deeper, his ‘City People’ a funky opener, and offers some smooth house from the likes of Blaze, Jet Lag and Sandy Rivera, whose excellent ‘Changes’ is worth the price of admission alone. All in all the two mixes compliment each other really well. Let’s hope Defected use this to kick-start a series – on this evidence, the West Coast is in rude health. And when there’s 2.5 hours of quality music on offer it’s foolish to resist! Tracklisting: CD1 Mixed by Jay-J 01. "Diamond Life" Louie Vega & Jay Sealee 02. "All I Need" (Halo Dub) Morgan Page/Collete 03. "Latinesta" (Acappella) Jay-J & Chris Lum 04. "Lovin¹ You" (Vincenco's Unreleased Dub) 05. Smurf & Perry "No No No" (Jask¹s Thaisoul Mix) 06. Manijama "So Much Like Me" (East Coast Boogiemen Mix) Swirl Peepz 07. "Don't You Love Me" Sir Piers feat. Monique Bingham 08. "The Best Part" (Copyright mix) Mind Influence 09. "Gonna Get By" (Classic Vocal Mix) Groove Junkies feat Indeya 10. "Groove Thing" Jay-J & Chris Lum 11. "That Feeling" (Acappella) DJ Chus 12. "Talking To You" Inland Knights 13. "The Light" (UBP Classic Mix) Michelle Weeks 14. "Keep On Rising" (Original Mix) Jay-J with Latrice Barnett 15. "ML's Funk" Blagger's World #1 CD2 Mixed by Miguel Migs 01. "City People" (Migs Petalpusher dub) Miguel Migs 02. "Fears" (Touchdown & Jonene rmx) Swirl People 03. "I Think I" (Main Mix) Spettro 04. "Dubplate Sessions" Miguel Migs 05. "I Can Feel It" (original mix) Rhythm Slaves 06. "Black Satin" (Miguel Migs Mix) Gene Ferris 07. "Try To Be Calm" Viekka 08. "So Right" (Dub Mix) Jet Lag 09. "Sweet Sonora" Nuboy & Sebastien Gamboa 10. "Changes" Sandy Rivera feat. Haze 11. "Ethnicity 1" Grant Nelson 12. "Breathe" Blaze 13. "Find a friend" (Audiowhores Rmx) John Julius Knight 14. "Without Love" Jay-J & Chris Lum with Latrice