LCD Soundsystem - 45:33 Remixes

  • Share
  • Four years ago, when the original 45:33 appeared at the behest of the most important shoe company in the universe, it worked not only as a great hipster jock-jams workout soundtrack, but also as a kind of rap-style pre-album mixtape that foreshadowed 2007's Sound of Silver. What the mix lacked in polish and finality it more than made up for in the freshness of its ideas, several of which found themselves transfigured into Silver standouts. To this day 45:33 still holds up as one of the coolest entries in the LCD catalog. So, why dish out a set of remixes four years later? Well, if you're James Murphy and you've got a host of A-list remixers on your speed dial, why not? The result, compiled here on CD, sees a mini all-star team of heavy disco-house hitters at work, with each member carving out his own little space to play within the original's epic expanse. Although a handful of the tracks here are content with tweaks and the addition of mild spices, rather than radical reworks, it's kind of nice just to have different movements from the original 45:33 mix distilled down to individual units. This is especially true for the standout "Shame on you!" part of the mix, which saw Murphy belting out a great soul vocal, evoking flamboyant pathos over chunky piano. Prince Language's remix wisely keeps the vocal wholly intact, and spruces things up with some extra shakers and a nice little back-porch wind-chime, turning LCD's original sketch into a full-fledged deep-disco sing-along. The joyous "No fun in space!" portion of the mix gets the most love. Prins Thomas files a trademark long-form cosmic steamroller version and Trus'me uses a nicely wonky deep house rhythm section to stitch the "space" vocal back onto Murphy's "shame on you." Theo Parrish produces perhaps the most remarkable mix, laying the vocal over sliced-n-diced jazzy house grooves that lope and tumble over one another with drunken glee. While this collection may not be a revelation to those who already fell in love with the original, it's still worth hearing the material get some fresh air after four years, a nice little stopgap until LCD delivers a new full-length sometime next year.
  • Tracklist
      01. 45:33 (Runaway Remix) 02. 45:33 (Prince Language Remix) 03. 45:33 (Prins Thomas Diskomiks Remix) 04. 45:33 (Theo Parrish's Space Cadet Remix) 05. 45:33 (Trus'me Remix) 06. 45:33 (Padded Cell Remix) 07. 45:33 (Pilooski Remix) 08. 45:33 (Riley Reinhold Remix)