Various - Referenz 1

  • Share
  • Despite the rising disquiet about Record Store Day, it still brings about killer records. Referenz 1, a four-track compilation, is one of 2017's. Unfortunately, only 100 people will get their hands on it. An ultra-limited collaboration between the labels LowMoneyMusicLove, Seekers and YAY, it comprises four house cuts heavy on bass and ethereal synths. You'll find dreamy afterhours bliss and more upfront sounds, all executed with a level of class that deserves a wider circulation beyond these 100 records. The tunes, produced by affiliates of the labels, are stripped-back, with most of the focus on percussion and mind-bending bass. This especially goes for "Son Goku" from Offenbach's Markus Sommer and Phil Evans. Its deep and rhythmic bassline, which seems to be in a permanent state of descent, is even more psychedelic than the sci-fi melody it's paired with. Roderick Merkx and Tjeerd Wijffels deliver their first release as Avos with "Menthal Obi," a slamming house roller with bleeps and shuffling hats, while Alex Picone's "Lucid Dream" matches another deep and melodic bassline with snappy drums and a pensive melody. Yakine's scatterbrained "Cylonic" is the EP's most percussive cut, with a more frantic vibe than the rest of the tunes. Anyone hoping to dazzle dance floors with these tracks needs to be fast—and lucky—this Record Store Day.
  • Tracklist
      A1 MSPE - Son Goku A2 Yakine - Cylonic B1 Avos - Menthal Obi B2 Alex Picone - Lucid Dream