Calyx & Teebee - Fabriclive 76

  • Share
  • Over time Calyx & Teebee have become poster-boys for powerhouse drum & bass, balancing macho aggression with a nimble sense of rhythm. Calyx's 2005 LP No Turning Back was a masterpiece of the form. The two have since tapped into a more accessible sound, as seen on 2012's pop-baiting All Or Nothing, and they've been bubbling just under the surface of mainstream success for a few years now. The Brit and the Norwegian seem well overdue for a Fabriclive mix, and their entry sits nicely next to Noisia and DJ Hazard's, presenting some of the most guttural moments of the series. But instead of mindlessly bashing it out, Calyx & Teebee deliver a careful study in tension-and-release. Though it begins with Calyx & Teebee's thrashing remix of Skream & Friction's "Kingpin," overall Fabriclive 76 showcases a relatively relaxed style of mixing, where demarcations between tracks are clear and dynamics are preserved. There are plenty of clear highlights, including punishing selections from Calyx & Teebee themselves and like-minded brutality from Teddy Killerz. Funkier numbers, like Xtrah's lean-and-mean "Compulsive," let the mix stop for a breath. The ever-versatile Break emerges as the mix's unexpected star, with his limber production style bridging the gaps between heavier numbers and lighter ones. There's a particularly floaty moment in the middle of Fabriclive 76, where the pressure seems to fall away entirely. It starts with Chris.SU's killer old-school anthem "Solaris VIP" and continues through to Calyx & Teebee's remixes of Syron and Michael Woods, two saccharine vocal tracks that coast forward on trance synths. By Fabriclive standards, they're both pretty cheesy, a far cry from Teebee's early breakbeat science or even the visceral brutality of peak Calyx, but it's still hard not to be impressed by their sheer beauty. These tunes hint at where the duo's heads are at these days, and also prove their versatility. Sure enough, the pounding drums make a return with the Noisia collaboration "Hyenas." By mastering this art of push-and-pull for a sound that usually just gives a big ol' shove, Calyx & Teebee have delivered a nicely unpredictable drum & bass mix.
  • Tracklist
      01. Friction & Skream feat. Scrufizzer, P Money & Riko Dan - Kingpin (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) 02. Gridlok & Prolix - Revenge 03. Calyx & TeeBee - Skank 04. Xtrah - Compulsive 05. Ulterior Motive - 2098 06. Calibre - Instant 07. TeeBee - Human Reptile (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) 08. Break - Duck For Cover 09. NC17 & KC - Slimeville 10. Nasty Habits - Shadow Boxing (Om Unit Remix) 11. Calyx & TeeBee feat. Kemo - Pure Gold 12. Gridlok & Prolix - Riot VIP 13. The Prototypes - Pale Blue Dot 14. Teddy Killerz - Demolisher 15. Chris.SU - Solaris VIP 16. Break - Kill Dem 17. Syron - Here (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) 18. Michael Woods feat. Ester Dean - We've Only Just Begun (Calyx & TeeBee Remix) 19. Break - Tempted 20. Noisia & Calyx & TeeBee - Hyenas 21. Teddy Killerz - New Drums VIP 22. Hidden Turn feat. Azaco - Time 23. Blu Mar Ten feat. Agné Genyté - Break It All Apart (Break Remix) 24. Break & DLR - New Design 25. Calyx & TeeBee - Strung Out VIP 26. Arp XP - Five Black Forms (Hybris Remix) 27. Teddy Killerz & Brain Crisis - Local 2 28. Brain Crisis - Hands Up 29. Bricky Mortar - Salford John (Dub Phizix Remix) 30. Optical - The Shining (Ed Rush & Optical Remix) 31. Teddy Killerz - Off World 32. Fierce/Optiv - Surface Noise 33. Kemal & Rob Data - Star Trails 34. Calyx & TeeBee - Elevate This Sound