Footprintz - Uncertain Change

  • Share
  • Coinciding with the release of Footprintz's likeable yet patchy debut album last month came news that Clarian North was leaving the band to pursue solo endeavors. Adam Hunter hasn't confirmed whether he'll be continuing as Footprintz meaning this, now somewhat aptly titled, single release may well be the band's swansong. "Uncertain Change" was among the stronger tracks on the album, and this release is given a sense of occasion with two high profile remixes from Maceo Plex and Matthew Dear. Arguably more of a house edit than a remix, Plex's "Reconception" condenses the percussion before dropping the final-third into a soaring breakdown. Dear's mix as Audion strays further from the original. Stripped and warped beyond recognition, it's an 11-minute ramble that gradually builds towards a plaintive crescendo. Despite the admirable complexity of Dear's version, the original is still the pick here.
  • Tracklist
      A1 Uncertain Change A2 Uncertain Change (Maceo Plex Reconception Remix) B1 Uncertain Change (Audion Love You Mix)