Submerse - Tears EP

  • Share
  • At seven tracks long Submerse's latest release, Tears, is more mini-album than single, and one not short of styles—old and new—from the genre-skirting producer. While early releases on Whistla's L2S Recordings may have put the now Tokyo-based Rob Orme in the future garage camp, his productions have since coursed back and forth through the many tomes of UK dance music, including bassline, 2-step and drum & bass. If you've heard They Always Come Back (the precursor to Tears), then the EP's ambient Autonomic-esque title track and general hip hop-orientation should come as no surprise. In fact the only Submerse-y number here is "It's Over, I Lost"—but despite the typically woeful title, it's a much more blissful, airy take on his usual brand of bleeding heart ballad. "Kerosene" is the other track here that relocates Orme's signature plaintive female to sunnier, glitchy climes, while "Pressure" pieces together garage and hip-hop tropes over pretty straight chugging house. Otherwise "Cream Soda," "Meaningless Moments In Capsules" and "Stars" shows Orme happily stranded deep in boom-bap land, with no garish basslines in sight. Whether a total departure or simple break from the 120-40 realm, Tears presents Orme at his most refined and mature, making this an excellent entry point for any non-garage and/or Submerse fans to start following this consistently surprising producer.
  • Tracklist
      A1 Cream Soda A2 It's Over A3 Kerosene B1 Meaningless Moments In Capsules B2 Pressure B3 Tears