RA.249 Discodeine

  • Published
    Mar 7, 2011
  • Filesize
    70 MB
  • Length
  • Heady home listening from the French duo.
  • Share
  • Discodeine is French producers Cédric Marszewski and Benjamin Morando, who are more commonly known as Pilooski and Pentile. The duo have been releasing a colourful brand of club music under the name since 2008's Joystick EP, and have just put-out a self-titled album, which called upon the vocal talents of Jarvis Coker, Baxter Dury and Matias Aguayo. Pilooski built a name for himself in his own right during the '00s, thanks largely to his Dirty Edits series and remixes for LCD Soundsystem and Mystery Jets. While less widely recognized, Pentile was part of several recording projects at the beginning of the last decade—Octet, France Copland and solo as Morando. The way in which artists label their mixes for us is often as intriguing as it is nebulous, and in the case of Discodeine "a pop selection" was how it was tagged. We're not sure we'd entirely agree with that description, although if pop music did sound like this we reckon the world would be a much happier place. What have you been up to recently? Living the life. How and where was the mix recorded? With a lot of records, sweat and chocolates in the Discodeine HQ. Can you tell us a little bit more about the idea behind the mix? It's just some songs we like in some very different styles, not especially electronic or club; a short journey into our record collection. How did you guys hook up with Jarvis Cocker for the track "Synchronize"? We didn't know that Jarvis was a great fan of the Dirty edits. One day he sent a mail to buy a copy to the Dirty mail order. Then he proposed to Pilooski to do a remix. We naturally thought of him when we were searching a singer for the "Synchronize" demo. What was the inspiration behind the artwork for your debut album? Some flashy 19th century lions! We wanted to finish with some colour this series about Gustave Dorée's engraving initialized with our EPs. What are you up to next? Preparing and rehearsing our live set.
  • Tracklist
      ARP - Pastoral Symphony: I. Dominoes II. Infinity Room Ennio Morricone - Esplicitamete Sospeso Roll the Dice - Axee Timber Timbre - Lay Down In The Tall Grass Juana Molina - Los Hongos De Marosa Ryuichi Sakamoto - Elephantism Theme The Gamelan Son of Lion - Halloween - By Jody Kruskall Oneohtrix Point Never - Describing Bodies Discodeine - Antiphonie Pollyester - You Are Amen Four Tet - Angel Echoes (Caribou remix) Luke Abbott - Brazil James Blake - Tell Her Safe Blur - Sing Pale Saints - Hair Shoes (Demo) Lucky Dragons - Tenderers Bob Bassara - Tongue Forge Cornelius - Fantasma Anika - I Go To Sleep Bunker Hill - Hide & Go Seek Florence Foster Jenkins - Adele's Laughing Song Vashti Bunyan - Against The Sky These New Puritans - We Want War