10 years of Treibstoff

  • Published
    Thu, 11 Oct 2007, 02:15
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • Cologne techno stable Treibstoff celebrates a decade of releases this month with a label compilation. Download an exclusive track inside.
  • 10 years of Treibstoff image
  • Cologne techno stable Treibstoff celebrates a decade of releases this month with a label compilation '10 Years Treibstoff'. German techno is coming of age this year with lots of labels and DJs celebrating tenth year anniversaries, and in Cologne the birthday kid is Treibstoff, one of the cities' most venerable techno institutions. Founded by Marcel Janovsky and René Breitbarth, Treibstoff now sports a 72 release-strong back catalogue, concentrated around a tight roster of artists including local luminaries such as Robert Babicz, Gabriel Ananda and Falko Brocksieper, who all contribute new tracks to the comp. In fact '10 Years Treibstoff' is not your ordinary label compilation: CD1, mixed by Janovsky, features all new cuts from the roster's artists, while the unmixed bonus disc of twelves from Treibstoff's past kicks off with an interview session with producers on the label - not sure what to expect from that but Treibstoff promise it'll be 'humorous'! All of the tracks from CD1 will also be released on a series of three 12" singles over the next few weeks. To celebrate the release of '10 Years Treibstoff', RA is giving away a track from the album as an exclusive download – the club stomper 'Okay' by Marcel Janovsky. Check it. Free download: Marcel Janovsky - Okay (download limit reached) Tracklist CD1 mixed by Marcel Janovsky 1. Robert Babicz - A night in Melbourne 2. René Breitbarth – Version666 3. Alecs Marta – BadMan 4. Falko Brocksieper – Silverlining 5. Swat Squad – Mi Jardi Zen 6. Gabriel Ananda – Sync 7. Sarah Goldfarb – Dreams will save us 8. Marcel Janovsky – Okay 9. Todd Bodine – Different floors 10. Maetrik – Runnin 11. Animaltek – Inocent robot 12. Cio D’or – La petite Geisha CD2 1. Interviews 2. Italoboyz feat. James What - Programmer (2006) 3. Noon(at – Down the room (2004) 4. Gabriel Ananda – Suessholz (2004) 5. Rob Acid – Something (2004) 6. Maetrik – Utilizame (2005) 7. Marcel Janovsky – Shopping (2002) 8. Jack Rock – Polyfemos (2007) 9. Sarah Goldfarb – 40 years ago i sold my body (2007) 10. René Breitbarth – Bob Ross (2004) 11. Novatek – Sabroso (2002) Treibstoff is also throwing a series of tenth anniversary parties across Europe over the next couple of months - check RA Events for full lineups and details. '10 Years Treibstoff: The Compilation' is out on Treibstoff on October 22, 2007.