Nicolás Jaar releases a compilation of silences wrapped in music

  • Published
    Tue, 3 Aug 2021, 11:26
  • Words
    Sean Beeby
  • Share
  • Out today, it features Laraaji, Lucrecia Dalt, Aho Ssan and Jaar himself.
  • Nicolás Jaar releases a compilation of silences wrapped in music image
  • Nicolás Jaar has released a compilation through his Other People label. Entitled Caves – A Compilation Of Silences, each of the eight compositions opens and closes with music but has a timed section of silence in the middle, which is intended for everyday practical use. There are contributions from Laraaji, Lucrecia Dalt, Ana Quiroga, Sary Moussa, Will Epstein, Aho Ssan, Marzio Zorio and Jaar. The pay-what-you-want digital compilation is out today. "I made the 20-minute timer initially for myself so that I didn't have to use my phone alarm when I meditated," says Jaar. "I imagine these could be used as timers for anything: cooking, running, taking a short nap, etc. I hope they're useful in these loud times." All proceeds from the release will go to the Dongyu Gatsal Ling Nunnery, a space in India which "offers girls and young women... an opportunity to develop their academic and spiritual potential." Caves – A Compilation Of Silences is the first release on Other People since Jaar and his DARKSIDE collaborator, Dave Harrington, released a live version of their album Psychic in November 2020. Listen to Caves – A Compilation Of Silences.
    Tracklist 01. Will Epstein - Fifteen Minute Cave 02. Nicolás Jaar - Twenty Minute Cave 03. Sary Moussa - Ten Minute Cave 04. Lucrecia Dalt - Seven Minute Cave 05. Marzio Zorio - Three Minute Cave 06. Aho Ssan - Thirteen Minute Cave 07. Ana Quiroga - Ten Minute Cave 08. Laraaji - Twenty Five Minute Cave Caves – A Compilation Of Silences is out now.