Nite Jewel reveals first album in four years, No Sun

  • Published
    Thu, 24 Jun 2021, 14:30
  • Words
    Resident Advisor
  • Share
  • It comes via the Los Angeles artist's own Gloriette Records.
  • Nite Jewel reveals first album in four years, No Sun image
  • Nite Jewel will release a new album called No Sun via her own Gloriette Records on August 17th. The eight-track LP is the first new music in four years from Ramona Gonzalez's long-running project, and follows a tumultuous period that included the dissolution of a 12-year marriage and completing a musicology PhD. Her research on women's practices of musical lament formed the historical basis for No Sun, which sees Gonzales examining these customs through the lens of contemporary pop divas. Gonazalez "questions and remodels the archetype of female pain," says the press release, while maintaining the synth-based R&B sound she's carved out over releases for Secretly Canadian and Italians Do It Better, as well as collaborations with the likes of Julia Holter, Dam-Funk and Omar-S. A portion of No Sun's proceeds will go to The World Stage, an educational and performance art space in LA.
    Tracklist 01. Anymore 02. Before I Go 03. Show Me What You’re Made Of 04. To Feel It 05. #14 06. No Escape 07. This Time 08. When There Is No Sun (Sun Ra Cover) Gloriette Records will release No Sun on August 27th, 2021. Photo credit: Tammy Nguyen