Matmos collaborate with 99 artists at 99 BPM on their new album

  • Share
  • Oneohtrix Point Never, Rabit, DeForrest Brown, Jr. and more appear on The Consuming Flame.
  • Matmos collaborate with 99 artists at 99 BPM on their new album image
  • Matmos are releasing their new album, The Consuming Flame: Open Exercises In Group Form, via Thrill Jockey in August. For this record, Baltimore duo Drew Daniel and M.C. Schmidt invited 99 artists to collaborate with them. The artists were offered a single prompt: play any sound or instrument they wanted, as long as it was at a tempo of 99 BPM. The final form is a three-disc, three-hour album that features a cast of guest performers from across the electronic music spectrum (and beyond). The album will come with a colour-coded chart that tracks the timestamps for each artist's contribution. Guest artists include Oneohtrix Point Never, Mouse On Mars, Rabit, Giant Swan, DeForrest Brown, Jr. (AKA Speaker Music), Matthew Herbert and Moth Cock. Among the non-electronic music performers are members of Yo La Tengo, Pig Destroyer and Locrian, alongside writers, conceptual artists and new music composers. The album comes in two forms—a three-disc set with one longform track on each CD, or a 40-track streaming album—but it is meant to be listened to in one sitting. The duo's last album, Plastic Anniversary, came out last year. Drew Daniel also released two solo albums this past spring under his Soft Pink Truth alias. Listen to an excerpt called "No Concept," featuring clipping. and David Grubbs.
    Tracklist 01. A Doughnut In The Sky 02. I'm On The Team 03. Extraterrestrial Masters Thrill Jockey will release The Consuming Flame: Open Exercises In Group Form on August 21st, 2020.