Félicia Atkinson reveals new album, The Flower And The Vessel

  • Share
  • The Shelter Press co-founder's latest features a 19-minute collaboration with Sunn O)))'s Stephen O'Malley.
  • Félicia Atkinson reveals new album, The Flower And The Vessel image
  • Félicia Atkinson will release a new album, The Flower And The Vessel, on Shelter Press, the label she runs with Bartolomé Sanson. The 11-track LP was "crafted while pregnant on tour, in impersonal hotel rooms in foreign cities," says the press release. During this period, Atkinson sought to connect herself to the world "with small gestures: recording my voice, recording birds, a simple melody." The full-length uses field recordings from Tasmania and the Mojave Desert, as well as gong, vibraphone and marimba. Atkinson was influenced by three French classical compositions from her childhood—"Maurice Ravel's 'L'enfant Et Les Sortilèges', Debussy's 'La Mer' (for its union of narration and music) and Erik Satie's 'Gymnopédies' (as an exercise in negative space, irony without cynicism, and 'melody with doubt')"—as well as Ikebana flower arrangements and "women who wander, dream and create vacant spaces with their art." The 19-minute closing track, "Des Pierres," was one of the few pieces recorded in a proper studio and features Sunn O))) guitarist Stephen O'Malley. Listen to album track "Shirley To Shirley".
    Tracklist 01. L'après-midi 02. Moderato Cantabile 03. Shirley To Shirley 04. Un Ovale Vert 05. You Have To Have Eyes 06. Linguistics Of Atoms 07. Lush 08. Joan 09. Open / Ouvre 10. L'enfant Et Le Poulpe 11. Des Pierres Shelter Press will release The Flower And The Vessel on July 5th, 2019.