Lost electro obscurity from Black Lodge revived by Warp sub-label Arcola

  • Share
  • The mysterious Manchester producer has a 12-inch and an archival LP, via Disciples, on the way this month.
  • Lost electro obscurity from Black Lodge revived by Warp sub-label Arcola image
  • Warp sub-label Arcola is releasing a 12-inch from Black Lodge featuring lost electro classic "Hotline." Black Lodge, AKA Mancunian producer Dan Dwayre, was to release "Hotline" on Mo' Wax in the early 2000s, but the label folded and the release has languished as a test pressing ever since. The oddball electro production will finally appear on a limited edition run of vinyl called MWR157. It comes out July 6th alongside five other productions recorded during the same period. Two weeks later, a new imprint called Disciples will release another set of recordings from Black Lodge. Cataloging Dwayre's esoteric drone works across 12 tracks, Bitter Blood: A Collection Of Archival Recordings will be available digitally and on vinyl from July 20th. Active in the Manchester underground since the '90s, Dwayre was a member of Gescom, a collective project featuring the likes of Autechre and Russell Haswell. He's also released cassettes on Will Bankhead's The Trilogy Tapes. (Bankhead was formerly a designer at Mo' Wax.) Listen to "Jamias Vu."
    Tracklist Black Lodge - MWR157 01. Hotline 02. Mo Wax 4 03. Monte 04. Mo Wax 5 05. Mo Wax 6 06. Microphone Demo01 Black Lodge - Bitter Blood A1 Do Not Go Gently A2 Jamais Vu A3 Wodwo A4 Bitter Blood A5 Ginny Spinner A6 Soph Says A7 Untitled B1 Black & Red B2 A Cross Inverted B3 Porco Deo B4 Castle To Castle B5 Withershins Arcola will release MWR157 on July 6th, 2018. Disciples will release Bitter Blood on July 20th, 2018. Photo credit: Will Bankhead