Gaika announces debut album, Basic Volume, for Warp

  • Share
  • It features production from SOPHIE, Jam City, Dre Skull and others.
  • Gaika announces debut album, Basic Volume, for Warp image
  • GAIKA is putting out his first album through Warp Records on July 27th. Basic Volume features production work from SOPHIE, Jam City, Dre Skull, Dutch E Germ and Nick Leon, among others. (The whole album was also co-produced by Gaika himself.) According to the press release, the LP of "gothic dancehall and industrial electronics" is influenced by "academia, British reggae soundsystems, philosophy and political theory... [intersecting] with meditations on his own identity." "My thing has always been: be yourself—whatever you are, be that—and people will walk towards it," he says. "I am whatever I say I am. And I want that to apply to all people of colour, all black people. This idea of what we like, make, do and how our art can be defined from outside of us is something I will actively try to disrupt." Gaika has released two EPs for Warp—Spaghetto and The Spectacular Empire—as well as a couple of self-released mixtapes. Watch the video for first single "Crown & Key."
    Tracklist 01. Basic Volume 02. Hackers & Jackers 03. Seven Churches For St Jude 04. Ruby 05. Born Thieves 06. 36 Oaths 07. Black Empire (Killmonger Riddim) 08. Grip 09. Clouds, Chemist And The Angel Gabriel 10. Immigrant Sons (Pesos & Gas) 11. Close To The Root 12. Yard 13. Crown & Key 14. Warlord Shoes 15. Spectacular Anthem Warp Records will release Basic Volume on July 27th, 2018.