Batu signs to XL Recordings with new EP, Rebuilt

  • Share
  • The Bristol producer said he "wanted to push my processes further than I ever have done" for his first record on the label.
  • Batu signs to XL Recordings with new EP, Rebuilt image
  • Batu is releasing his debut EP for XL Recordings next month. The Bristol producer, real name Omar McCutcheon, will share four new tracks on Rebuilt, which is out June 1st. On the significance of signing with XL, Batu said: "I wanted to try and challenge myself a bit for this EP. Every track represents a different phase of experimentation—and also different tempos. I wanted to push my processes further than I ever have done." Just yesterday, XL announced it had signed Baba Stiltz and is releasing his new EP, Showtime. Stiltz and Batu join the label's bustling underground dance music roster, which includes Dark0, Overmono and Powell. Batu has a number of dates lined up for the summer, including the RA stage at Field Day, a TIMEDANCE party in Bristol, Terraforma and a night in Berlin with Monolake and Lena Willikens. Listen to "Flash React" from Rebuilt.
    Tracklist A1 Rebuilt A2 Pillars B1 Flash React B2 Tuff Cookie XL Recordings will release Rebuilt on June 1st, 2018. Photo credit: Daniela Monteiro

    • Sat, Jun 2, 2018

      Field Day 2018

      Jeff Mills, James Holden, Gilles Peterson, Tom Baker, Four Tet, Tony Allen, Mount Kimbie, Madlib, Fever Ray, Floating Points, Dolan Bergin, Panda Bear, Moscoman, Batu, Willow, Thundercat, Young Marco, Objekt, Daniel Avery, Erykah Badu, Daphni, Avalon Emerson, Helena Hauff, Nils Frahm, Earl Sweatshirt, Tzusing, Zara McFarlane, Ross From Friends, Hailu Mergia, Jayda G, Lemmy Ashton, Barely Legal, Aaron L, Andwot, Mafalda, Tash LC, AJ Tracey, HAAi, DJ Seinfeld, DJ BORING, Jordan Rakei, Sudan Archives, Moses Boyd Exodus, Noble & Heath, Donna Leake, Nabihah Iqbal, Ezra Collective, Nubya Garcia, Errol, Children of Zeus, The Comet Is Coming, Yazmin Lacey, Mammal Hands, Tom Ravenscroft, IAMDDB

    • Fri, Jun 29, 2018

      Terraforma 2018

      Jeff Mills, Donato Dozzy, Byetone, Plaid, Marco Shuttle, Batu, Rabih Beaini, PLO Man, DON'T DJ, Powder, Valentino Mora, Lanark Artefax, Vladimir Ivkovic, Daniele De Santis, Nkisi, Caterina Barbieri, Paquita Gordon, VIPRA