Sydney promoter Chubby launches record label

  • Published
    Fri, 9 Feb 2018, 01:58
  • Share
  • Ewan Jansen and Mike Grant will feature on the first release in March.
  • Sydney promoter Chubby launches record label image
  • Sydney party series Chubby is starting a label in March. The promoter will expand operations to include a vinyl label component, with the first release—Various Volume 1—featuring original music by Perth veteran Ewan Jansen and Trinidadian Deep, an artist the label calls "a master of deep, spiritual music." Jansen's track also gets a remix from Moods & Grooves boss Mike Grant, while Trinidadian Deep's cut is reworked by Japanese producer Mr. YT. Started in 2013 by local DJs Aaron Andrew and Steven Sullivan, Chubby has intermittently thrown parties around the city covering deeper shades of house and disco. They've hosted artists like Move D, Mark Grusane and John Gomez, as well as running a podcast series that's featured Fudge Fingas, Big Strick and Kai Alcé across its 72 episodes. Club 77 will host a launch party on March 23rd, with both label bosses plus Chubby regular Daniel Lupica. Listen to clips from the release.
    Tracklist A1 Ewan Jansen - Plants A2 Ewan Jansen - Plants (Mike Grant Remix - Jason Hogans Additional Keys) B1 Trinidadian Deep - Move Me B2 Trinidadian Deep - Move Me (Mr. YT Remix) Chubby! Records will release Various Volume 1 on March 26th, 2018.