New Mika Vainio album, Reat, surfaces

  • Share
  • It's out via Elektro Music Department next week.
  • New Mika Vainio album, Reat, surfaces image
  • There's a new Mika Vainio album on the way. The Pan Sonic co-founder died earlier this year, but his prolific working schedule meant there was still music to be released. At the time of his death, Vainio's official website listed a record called Reat that had yet to be announced, and it has since surfaced in online record stores. Reat is an eight-track LP that marks the relaunch of Elektro Music Department, a German label that has served largely as an outlet for Klaus Kotai. The label says that Reat sees Vainio "in full action," encompassing "beats, [groove], experimental and/or hardcore." Listen to clips over at Juno. For more on Mika Vainio and his long and influential career in electronic music, see our recent feature. Tracklist A1 Give 'Em Hell Echo Pappa A2 A Season In Harar 1881 A3 Horse Can Stand A4 Diderik & Iselin B1 Gear B2 And Around Coils Of Horns B3 Ant Steamtrap B4 Secondhand Twilight Elektro Music Department will release Reat on May 26th, 2017.