Gqom Oh! to release 8-track EP from Dominowe

  • Published
    Tue, 17 Jan 2017, 23:36
  • Share
  • The 19-year-old producer is making his label debut with an EP called SiyaThakatha.
  • Gqom Oh! to release 8-track EP from Dominowe image
  • Dominowe is up next on Gqom Oh! with an EP called SiyaThakatha. The EP—the title of which means "black magic" in Zulu—is the debut from Dominowe, a 19-year-old producer from Durban, South Africa. It follows two Gqom Oh! compilations from last year, which are among the few high-profile international releases to emerge from Durban's local scene. The label also just presented its first tour of Europe and Asia, which featured label head Nan Kolè (AKA Italian DJ Francesco Cucchi) alongside label artist DJ Lag, who's also from Durban. SiyaThakatha not only touches on the local club genre "gqom," but also introduces another one called "sghubu." Listen to the EP cut "Umthakathi." For more on the Durban music scene, check out this week's Exchange podcast with Nan Kolè and DJ Lag.
    Tracklist 01. Newlands Mgido 02. Umzabalazo 03. Umthakhathi 04. Bhenga Nezinja feat. Chaotic Boyz 05. Club Killer (Digital only) 06. Instrumental (Digital only) 07. City Rise (Digital only) Gqom Oh! will release SiyaThakatha on January 27th, 2017.